Lapidary / Gemstone Community Forum
June 05, 2020, 03:52:12 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
  Home Help Search Login Register  

Slab saw

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Slab saw  (Read 196 times)
Shall970
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« on: January 11, 2016, 09:57:14 am »

 help I believe it is an old Lortone slab saw, 12 inch, although it is green, I need to know the size of the belt on the motor to the pulley, any help appreciated.
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Desertwind
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 283



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 10:34:19 am »

Welcome from southern New Mexico.
Report Spam   Logged

Charles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 505



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2016, 11:26:41 am »

 welcome2 from Southern Oklahoma. Pull up a chair and join in the chitchat
Report Spam   Logged

jakesrocks
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2109


New Toy.


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2016, 11:29:31 am »

Does it look like this one ? http://www.lortone.com/pdf/LS12C_Parts_List.pdf
Report Spam   Logged

A day spent without learning something new, is a day wasted.

Don

slabbercabber
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 695


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2016, 02:27:44 pm »

Measure the outside diameter of each of the two pulleys, the width between the flanges of the pulleys and the distance between centers of the two pulleys when adjusted as close together as possible.  Add the diameters of the two pulleys together, multiply by 3.14 and divide by two.  Add that to two times the distance between centers and you have the width and minimum belt length.
Report Spam   Logged
Yukon Jade
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2016, 05:37:55 pm »



              Welcome from Oregon     yes

          You probably thought of this already---if you have the old belt
  take it to an auto parts store and they will match it.
Report Spam   Logged
catmandewe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1159



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2016, 08:19:33 pm »

I always run a fairly thick electrical cord through the pulleys and then make a mark across both of them, stretch it out and measure from mark to mark, it will be fairly close to your belt length.

Welcome!

Tony
Report Spam   Logged





Get free shipping and/or discounts on products at Cabking by using the following link.
http://cabking.com/ref/IdahoRockShop/


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy