Lapidary / Gemstone Community Forum
May 30, 2020, 04:57:29 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
  Home Help Search Login Register  

Frantom 10" Trim Saw Autofeed

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Frantom 10" Trim Saw Autofeed  (Read 184 times)
Richardi503
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« on: July 15, 2015, 08:43:22 am »

 I just picked up a 10" Frantom trim saw. The auto feed was not  hooked up or used by the previous owner  Any one have a picture of one so I can figure out how it is setup?
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

johnjsgems
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 924


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2015, 09:00:24 am »

I've never seen a power feed on a Frantom 10".  Both of the Frantoms I had had the gravity feed pulleys but I never used them.  With a good blade they slabbed very quickly and easily by clamping rock in vise and gently pushing through with hand feed.  You have to learn to listen to the motor and saw to not push to hard.  Great old saws.  My first saw was a 10" Frantom saw I found in someone's yard and bought for $25.  Sump full of barnacles and had to use a 6" cheater bar to get shaft to turn.  Once freed up it cut (after installing blade and salvaged used motor) but very noisy.  I finally replaced bearings and used it for several years.  I sold it when I found a Frantom combo unit. As it turned out, I liked the stand alone saw better.   
Report Spam   Logged
Richardi503
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2015, 08:02:20 pm »

This saw was used and loved by an older rockhound that has to give up the hobby due to eye issues.. I got a great deal on it. He never used the power feed and it was not on it when he bought it. I have seen them in pictures with the powerfeed but not clearly enough to figure it out.. It works and runs just need to figure out how to install it and hook it up.. Sweet little saw. I love it so far.
Report Spam   Logged
slabbercabber
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 695


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2015, 07:06:27 am »

Just a guess.  Is it possible that the power feed was not made for this saw?  If you post some pics someone may recognize the system and know how it was originally mounted.
Report Spam   Logged


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy