General information about the Site

This lapidary and jewelry design community forum is dedicated to the novice, more experienced, and expert lapidaries and jewelry designers.

Forum cabochon in the Spotlight

Bob ( bobby1 ) shared this unknown druzy

Forum Jewelry Design in the Spotlight

John shared this beautiful pair of amethyst cufflinks

Forum Jewelry Design in the Spotlight

Mick B shared this stunning opal shell carving

Intarsias / Composites / Bead Making in the Spotlight

Kent shared this really nice Imperial Jasper pendant

Lapidary Related and Forum Member Shop Links

Brian Ababurko Silversmithing Classes / Rock Rollers Club

Dons Lapidary Arts

Idaho Rock Shop

Rare Rocks and Gems

Coyote Rainbow

Lightninghorse

Rocky Treasures

Talking Rocks

Fine Gem Designs

Idaho Rockman

Fine Woodwork and Lapidary

Darkstar Jewelry

DLC Gems

Teton Art Gallery

Art Cut Gems

Woman With A Torch

Lapidary Buy and Sell (Facebook Group)

Lapidary (Facebook Group)

Lapidary Equipment Marketplace (Facebook Group)


Lapidary / Gemstone Community Forum
April 20, 2019, 02:14:49 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home Help Search Login Register  

What size blade flanges - Coolant depth ??

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What size blade flanges - Coolant depth ??  (Read 1853 times)
Bruce
Guest
« on: February 08, 2009, 10:27:26 am »

A few more questions on slab saw design,

For an 18" blade of average thickness, what size flanges (washers, supports, on both sides of the blade)
would you use?

How far below the base of the opening in the vise should the center of the blade be? , just enough so that any rock will clear the flanges as it passed through?

How far up from the bottom of the blade should the coolant be?

How much space is needed in between the bottom of the blade and the tank bottom to allow for an adequate
amount of coolant?

Thanks,  Bruce
Report Spam   Logged

travelerga
Guest
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 11:24:19 am »

Bruce, on my 18" saw my washers are 2" in diameter. 1/4 to 1/2 inch is my oil depth. If I use much more it foams like crazy.  If you blade comes through a plate,lie my 8" saw it only comes through 2 7/8 inches. My 18" is shaft mounted and the vice carriage is just above the washers, I could conceivably cut an 7" stone but keep my stone size to 6" tall.
hope it helps.
Mike
Report Spam   Logged
Bluesssman
Guest
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2009, 11:41:35 am »

I think the type of oil make a difference in foaming. I use Shell Diala Oil AX. Very little smell and no foaming even with the blade submerged over and inch.
Report Spam   Logged
Bruce
Guest
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2009, 11:01:34 am »

After a little more digging on the net I found out that a flange diameter should be 25% of the width of the blade , so a 18 " blade should technically have a 4.5 flange.  I also spoke to some one at MK diamond
that confirmed this,  Covington uses the same arbor for their 18-24" saws, and they told me its flange was about 3",  They also sell alluminiun milled flanges on their site under the pulley section,  I am wondering if they are strong enough, I think steel would be better but so far I cant find any.

I think I am going to use a 20" blade and would like to find some nice steel flanges about 4-4.5"

If any one knows where I could get some let me know

Thanks Bruce
Report Spam   Logged
Taogem
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 12350



« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2009, 01:01:19 pm »

At what point of saw blade diameter does it start to require larger motors (hp or amps)?

When we purchase or build saws I would imagine some thought is given to what diameters of material were going to be slabbing.

What are the advantages to having a 20" blade over a 14" blade if the same 1/4 hp motor is used for either one?

Report Spam   Logged

Bluesssman
Guest
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2009, 01:30:46 pm »

I think the main advantage of the 20" blade would be it's ability to cut larger rock. Pulley sizes would be different because you want the speed of the cutting edge regulated and a 20 inch blade with nothing else changed would have a faster speed than a 14" blade. As far as horsepower is concerned, a friend who is a tile setter, swears by more horsepower provides better cutting and a longer lasting motor. The motor on my 24 inch saw is a one horsepower.
Report Spam   Logged
Taogem
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 12350



« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2009, 01:53:59 pm »

I have a 3/4 hp motor that I thought about putting on my slab saw, but it runs at 3450 rpm. That is really screaming I think, and can't slow it down.

How fast is your 1 hp? and about how many rpm do you suppose your blade might be running at?

Report Spam   Logged

Bruce
Guest
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2009, 03:19:21 pm »


Here are some specs from Barranca,  their saws are designed to run different sized blades per saw.




SPECIFICATIONS
                                HP18                      HP24
Motor                        Baldor                     Baldor
Horsepower                1.5 Hp                     1.5 Hp
Voltage                      120V / 60 Hz             120V / 60 Hz
Amperage                     8                              8
Motor RPM                  1725                         1725
Blade RPM                  700                            500
Arbor Size 1” 1”
Blade capacity             16” / 18” / 20”            20” / 24”
Depth of Cut                5.75” / 6.75” / 7.5”        7.5” / 9”
Blade Flange                 4 1/2”                            5”
Vise Opening                8”                                  17”
Drain Cap 2” 2”
Box L x W x H               36” x 24” x 46”               54” x 37” x 50”
Dry Weight                    580                                   720
Report Spam   Logged
Taogem
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 12350



« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2009, 03:28:59 pm »

Maybe it is just this particular motor that I have...

Are there 1.5 hp motors that run stock without the need to reduce via pulleys at 1725?

It seems like it would take a huge pulley at the blade end to reduce my 3425 motor rpm motor down to 500 - 800 blade rpm.

Not sure it can be done.

Report Spam   Logged

Bruce
Guest
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2009, 03:57:03 pm »

Yes there are.
Report Spam   Logged
travelerga
Guest
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2009, 05:55:05 pm »

George, a 2" motor pully and an 8.5 " driven pully will give you 800 rpm

http://gadi.agric.za/software/renting/pulley.php

mike
Report Spam   Logged
Taogem
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 12350



« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2009, 07:23:06 pm »

Thanks for that Mike.....

Report Spam   Logged

Bluesssman
Guest
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2009, 09:30:48 pm »

My motor is 3450 rpm but with the pulleys the blade rpm is 575.  I can't post picture... something is full.
Report Spam   Logged
Taogem
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 12350



« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2009, 10:44:15 pm »

 I can't post picture... something is full.

I will add more MB space right now..

Thanks for mentioning it !
Report Spam   Logged

Bluesssman
Guest
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2009, 08:09:46 am »

This is the simple setup of pulleys on my slab saw.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Report Spam   Logged


Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum | Buy traffic for your forum/website

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy