Helios Red Helios Green Helios Blue Helios Purple

Lapidary / Gemstone Community Forum
September 21, 2017, 01:04:08 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This Forum has moved to a new host.  Please go to http://lapidaryforum.net/group/index.php and sign up so you can participate.  You will no longer be able to post here.  It is now a read-only archive.

Home Help Search Classifieds Gallery Links Classified / Auctions Staff List Login Register  

Cabbing Safety

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Cabbing Safety  (Read 2107 times)
Deb

View Profile WWW
« on: September 09, 2009, 09:13:44 am »

Hi Everyone,

I have some questions on cabbing safety.  I always wear goggles to protect my eyes.  I'm a photographer by trade.  So for me that's very important.  But how about wearing a mask over your face when grinding?
Someone told me that malachite is an arsenic.  Do you all where safety gear when cabbing?  Also, if any of you have an article on safety that I could use, that would be great.  I'm a newsletter editor for the local gem club and feel it is an important reminder to the newbys.

Thanks for all your continued support and help.

Deb :)
Report Spam   Logged

Social Buttons

Bluesssman
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2009, 09:50:28 am »

Deb, I certainly can relate to your worries about your eyes being a photographer. I was a commercial photographer for over thirty years!

Yes, when I grind or cut stone I wear safety glasses. When I do the grinding I like to use lots of water and I feel with the amount of water used, I do not need to wear a mask.

Hope this helps...

Gary
Report Spam   Logged
Mark

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 10:00:59 am »