Helios Red Helios Green Helios Blue Helios Purple

Lapidary / Gemstone Community Forum
March 24, 2017, 09:53:25 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This Forum has moved to a new host.  Please go to http://lapidaryforum.net/group/index.php and sign up so you can participate.  You will no longer be able to post here.  It is now a read-only archive.

Home Help Search Classifieds Gallery Links Classified / Auctions Staff List Login Register  

Need Help - Dop Stick Wax Won't Stick

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need Help - Dop Stick Wax Won't Stick  (Read 9197 times)
castocreations
« on: February 25, 2008, 09:54:15 am »

So...I'm a total newbie when it comes to cutting stones so I have no real idea what I'm talking about.

But my grandfather is an old pro (and old...80) who has done this for decades. However he hasn't done it in a few years so he's trying to get back in the swing of things by teaching me. The problem is that the stupid dop stick wax won't stick to the damn stones.

I ordered new wax and he cleaned out his little melter thingy and we tried again on Saturday but again it didn't work.

We are drying and warming the stone, and he even roughed up the back a little to see if it would help. The wax is new. He cannot understand what the problem is as he's never had anything like this happen before.

Any ideas? Are there other newer techniques for holding stones to grind / polish them down?
Report Spam   Logged

Social Buttons

Taogem
Administrator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2008, 05:53:24 pm »

Hey, welcome to the forum castocreations!

I just got my first dop pot and it took me a little bit of playing to finally get it to work out every time now.

It can be a little different for some people. For myself, what is working great is this:

I use a propane torch to really warm up the stone and the dop. I use metal dops...